Before selling or giving away your iPhone, there are a few things you need to make sure you do to keep your information safe and ensure that your old iPhone is able to be used by its new owner: restoring it to factory settings and removing your iCloud account.

If you’ve made your way to this blog post, you’ve hopefully already factory reset your iPhone. If not, learn how here.

 

What If You Forgot to Reset Your iPhone Before Selling?

If you sold or gave away your Apple device but forgot to remove your personal data, it’s probably iCloud locked. In other words, your old iPhone thinks it still belongs to you rather than the person you sold it to.

To keep your personal information safe and remotely unlock your iPhone for its new owner, follow the six steps below to remove your iCloud account.

 

Step 1.  Go to iCloud.com and sign in.

 

| GadgetGone

 

Step 2.  Click the Find My app.

 

| GadgetGone

 

Step 3.  Click All Devices.

 

| GadgetGone

 

Step 4.  Select the device you need to remove.

 

Select the device of choice

 

Step 5.  Select Remove from Account.

 

| GadgetGone

 

Step 6.  Click Remove.

 

| GadgetGone

That’s it! Your iCloud account has been removed and the Apple device is now ready to be used by a new owner.

 

Ready to Sell?

Get a Quote