Before selling or giving away your iPhone you’ll want to make sure you reset it to factory stock settings so it can be used by another user. Luckily Apple makes this process extremely simple. All you need to do to completely wipe your iPhone is follow the below directions (this also works with iPads and iPods). **Before erasing your iPhone be sure to back it up via iCloud or on your computer via iTunes**

 

How To Reset Your iPhone:

1: Go to the settings app on your iPhone

2: Click the “General” tab

3: Click the “Reset” tab (this tab will be at the bottom)

4: Click “erase all content and settings”

5: Enter your Apple ID and password to complete the process. Your iPhone will begin resetting immediately. 

 

What if you forgot to reset your iPhone before selling?

If you sold or gave away your Apple device but forgot to remove your personal data, the device is likely iCloud locked. Follow the six steps below to remove your iCloud account without compromising your personal information.

 

Step 1: Go to iCloud.com and sign in.

| GadgetGone

 

Step 2:  Click the “Find my iPhone” app.

 | GadgetGone

 

Step 3: Click “All Devices”.

| GadgetGone

 

Step 4: Select the device you need to remove.

| GadgetGone

 

Step 5: Select “Remove from Account”.

| GadgetGone

 

Step 6: Click “Remove”.

| GadgetGone

That’s it!

Your iCloud account has been removed and the Apple device is now ready to be used by a new owner.

Ready to Sell?

Get a Quote